Skip to main content

Review: Dark Halls - A Horror Novel

Dark Halls - A Horror Novel Dark Halls - A Horror Novel by Jeff Menapace
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

No disrespect to Mr. King, but with this book, Jeff Menapace has cemented his status as my all time favorite supernatural horror author.

Dark Halls holds a few close personal ties for me. It takes place in Pennsylvania, where I grew up, and the protagonist is a male elementary teacher, which is how I began my career. Luckily, that is where the parallels between my life and Ryan's end... although Ryan is my middle name.

Ryan is a new hire at a "cursed" school, which has seen its fair share of murder, suicide, and other tragedies. Though he initially scoffs at the rumors, he quickly realizes there is more truth in these legends than most people realize.

The writing is fast-paced, succinct, and engaging, as has become customary in Menapace's work. While gory at times, it is not overtly so. The supernatural element makes sense in the context of the book, and even sets up a beautiful sequel opportunity. Though I do prefer Menapace to Stephen King now, I did draw some parallels between Pet Sematary and this book.

If you're a fan of Menapace's past work, definitely check this out. While this is in a different genre than his two best selling series (Bad Games and Wildlife), his writing still captured my attention from start to end. Fans of King, Koontz, and other supernatural thrillers will also enjoy this fun and creepy thriller.

Thank you to Jeff for a copy for me to read and review. All opinions are my own.

View all my reviews

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review: A Monster Of All Time: The True Story of Danny Rolling, The Gainesville Ripper

A Monster Of All Time by J.T. Hunter on Tour July 1-31, 2019   The True Story of Danny Rolling, The Gainesville Ripper Ambitious, attractive, and full of potential, five young college students prepared for the new semester. They dreamed of beginning careers and starting families. They had a lifetime of experiences in front of them. But death came without warning in the dark of the night. Brutally ending five promising lives, leaving behind three gruesome crime scenes, the Gainesville Ripper terrorized the University of Florida, casting an ominous shadow across a frightened college town. What evil lurked inside him? What demons drove him to kill? What made him A Monster of All Time ? My Review: What a gripping, fascinating tale about a horrifying serial killer and his reign of terror! I consider myself to be quite the true aficionado and I'm shocked I never heard about Rolling before. Now that I have, if I had to describe him in a word: Monster

Review: Mercy Creek

Mercy Creek by M.E. Browning October 11 - November 5, 2021 Tour Synopsis: In an idyllic Colorado town, a young girl goes missing—and the trail leads into the heart and mind of a remorseless killer. The late summer heat in Echo Valley, Colorado turns lush greenery into a tinder dry landscape. When a young girl mysteriously disappears, long buried grudges rekindle. Of the two Flores girls, Marisa was the one people pegged for trouble. Her younger sister, Lena, was the quiet daughter, dutiful and diligent—right until the moment she vanished. Detective Jo Wyatt is convinced the eleven-year-old girl didn’t run away and that a more sinister reason lurks behind her disappearance. For Jo, the case is personal, reaching far back into her past. But as she mines Lena’s fractured family life, she unearths a cache of secrets and half-lies that paints a darker picture. As the evidence mounts, so do the suspects, and when a witness steps forward with a shocking new revelation, Jo